The building that today serves as headquarters to the Museo Nacional del Prado was designed by the architect Juan de Villanueva in 1785, as Cabinet of Natural Sciences, by order of Carlos III. However, the final destination of this construction would not be clear until his grandson Fernando VII, driven by his wife Queen María Isabel de Braganza, made the decision to use this building to create a Royal Museum of Paintings and Sculptures. The Royal Museum, which soon became known as the National Museum of Painting and Sculpture and later the Museo Nacional del Prado, opened for the first time to the public in 1819. The first catalog consisted of 311 paintings, although by then the Museum had already saved 1510 works. coming from the Royal Sites. The most valuable Royal Collections, germ of the collection of the current Prado Museum, began to take shape in the sixteenth century under the auspices of the Emperor Charles V and were successively enriched by all the monarchs who succeeded him, both Austrians and Bourbons. They are the most emblematic treasures that can be seen today in the Prado.